We've done our best to create straightforward billing and payment policies. Still have questions? Use this guide to learn how our billing works and how to make payments, update your billing information, get referral credits, and remove services. If you have a question that isn't answered here, please feel free to contact support.
This guide applies to Linode's default billing system. For information on Metered billing, please see the Metered billing guide.
All services are billed automatically on the first of the month, and all fees billed to your account are prorated for the current billing cycle. This means that if you sign up or purchase extras in the middle of the billing cycle, you will be charged a prorated amount for the amount of time left in the cycle. At the beginning of the next billing cycle, your account will be billed the full cost of your Linode and any extra services.
If you sign up after the 19th of the month, your account will be billed for the time left in the current month, plus the full amount of the next month.
We accept Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express. For payments of a year or more, we also accept checks or money orders (which must be in USD) made out to "Linode, LLC" and sent to our office address. Please contact support before paying with check or money order. Note that we do not accept bank/wire transfers, and we have no plans to support PayPal at this time.
You can use the Linode Manager to pay an outstanding balance or prepay for Linode services. Here's how:
The payment may take a few minutes to be applied to your account. Click the Account subtab to view your new account balance.
If you exceed your monthly bandwidth quota, your account will be billed for $0.10/GB at the end of the current month. If you will be routinely exceeding your bandwidth quota, you may wish to purchase extra bandwidth at the rate of $0.10/GB from the Extras tab in the Linode Manager.
All of your billing history is stored in the Linode Manager. Here's how to access it:
Select an invoice to view the charges for a particular month. You can also download invoices in PDF format.
You can receive service credit by referring new users to Linode. When you refer someone who maintains at least one active Linode for 90 days, your account will be issued a $20 service credit. Here's how to find your account referral code and URL:
Referral service credits must be used to purchase Linode services, and cannot be refunded as cash.
Keep your credit card information up to date to prevent service interruptions. Here's how:
Your credit card information will be updated.
If you have an outstanding balance, you will need to make a manual payment to bring your account up to date. See the Making a Payment section for more information.
Our services are provided without a contract, so you're free to remove services from your account at any time. Here's how:
If you remove services from your account, you will be issued a prorated service credit for the time left in the current billing period. This credit may be used to purchase additional Linode services in the future. Service credit is always used before charging the credit card on file for ongoing service.
You can cancel your account and receive a refund. Here's how:
Your account will be canceled and all of your services will be deactivated.
You do not have to cancel your account to prevent recurring charges. Instead, you can remove all Linodes and services from your account via the Linodes tab in the Linode Manager. This will allow you to retain your Linode account. If you use Longview with non-Linode services, or want to keep your account name and history, you may find this to be a useful option. See the Removing Services section for more information.
To update to the new Metered billing system, follow the instructions here:
Log in to the Linode Manager.
Click the Account tab.
From the Account tab, select the Convert to Metered billing link in the lower right.
You'll be taken to a page with a brief overview of the Metered billing system. If you have any prepaid amounts on your account from the current month or year, you will receive that amount as a credit on your account to be used toward future invoices. Click the Convert me to Metered NOW! button to finalize the conversion.
You will receive a confirmation message that your account has been converted to Metered billing.
Refer to the Metered billing guide for Metered billing details.
When you select the Convert to Metered billing link in Step 3 above, you may receive an error or notice. For example, this account has several notices that This package needs to be paid:
To resolve unpaid packages, you can:
You will no longer receive the annual discount when you switch to Metered billing. If you have a current discounted package on your account, you will receive this notice:
If you want to stay on the old billing system, just don't click the final button.
This guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License.
Last edited by Sharon Campbell on Friday, February 28th, 2014 (r4300).